If you return a car late, you'll be charged for the total time you have the car. You may also be charged a late fee.
Time is charged in 15 minute blocks. If you return the car late, the billing will round up to the next 15 minutes. For example:
- You book a car for three hours, and return it after 3 hours and 17 minutes. You will be charged for 3 hours and 30 minutes.
This time will be billed at the car's normal hourly rate.
However, if you are paying the daily rate and the late return of the car doesn't push your booking over 24 hours, you will not be charged for any extra time. (see also How long is a day (for calculating the daily rate)?).
You book the car for 7 hours, which means you are paying the daily rate. You return the car after 8 hours. There is no change to the time charge (though there may be a late fee).
In addition to paying for the total time you had the car, a late fee may apply.
The late fee is:
- $20 if your late return does not affect someone else's booking; and
- $50 if your late return does affect someone else's booking.
These fees are set out in the Fee Schedule.
Extending your booking
Extending your booking is quick and easy, and the best way to avoid a late fee. Just look under 'Step 7: Extend booking' in your trip instructions.
If you're running late or need the car for longer than you initially booked, the best option is always to extend the booking. As long as the car isn't booked by another member, you can extend your booking through the app or mobile site. If you extend your booking before it was scheduled to end, you won't be charged any late fees and can continue to enjoy your trip worry free! See I'm running late: how do I extend my booking? for full instructions.