All payments are automatically managed by our billing system. We'll charge your credit or debit card in two parts. You pay for the time, booking fee and optional insurance upgrade when you book your trip. You pay for your distance and tolls after your trip ends.
When you book a trip, the cost is broken down into a 'pay now' and 'pay later' amount.
When you review the cost and confirm your booking, your card will be charged the 'pay now' amount. This covers:
- time charge
- booking fee
- insurance upgrade (if you select it)
- security deposit (for your first trip only)
After your trip, we'll charge you for:
- distance charge
When you end your trip, we'll calculate how far you drove to determine the distance charge. We'll deduct this from the available balance in your Car Next Door account, or from your deposit if it's your first trip.
If the distance charge is less than your available balance and deposit, the balance will be refunded to your Car Next Door account. It will then be refunded to your card within a few days, or you can withdraw it back to your credit or debit card anytime. If it is more than your available balance and deposit, we'll charge the difference to your card.
For most trips, the distance charge will be charged the night after you have finished your trip, but on occasion it may take up to a week for the trip to be charged.
Any tolls you incur during your trip will be charged to you at the start of the following month. We don't get our toll statement until the end of each month, so we pass your tolls on to you then.
If you cancel your trip
If you cancel before your trip starts, then the cancellation fees (if there are any) will be deducted from the pre-payment. Any amounts left over will be refunded to your Car Next Door account.
You can leave the refund there as a credit against toll fees, membership fees, or your next trip, or you can refund the money to your credit card via the website or the app.
If your trip ends up being shorter or longer than what you booked
If you return the car early, you may still be charged for 'unused time': see "Cancellation policy and cancelled time or unused time charges".
Any amounts left over will be refunded to your Car Next Door account. You can leave the refund there as a credit against toll fees, membership fees, or your next trip, or you can refund the money to your credit card via the website or the app.
If you extend your trip, you will be charged for the extra time when you make the change - see "I'm running late - how do I extend my booking?'
Viewing your trip cost breakdown
We will provide you with an itemised invoice at the end of each month. (See "Where can I view my invoice?")
You can log in to the members' site at any time and check the "Account" tab to see details of the charges if you don't want to wait for your monthly invoice.