We never like to see Owners leave the community, but understand that circumstances can change and sharing your car may no longer be suitable. You need to give us at least 10 business days' notice of your intention to stop renting out your car so we can arrange to collect our devices or help you uninstall them yourself and remove your car from the platform.
Submit notice to delist your car using this Help Centre form.
You can also simply take a break from sharing: Log in to your account, go to 'Manage this car" > Profile > Sharing Plan. You'll see a link to pause sharing your car.
Give at least 10 days' notice
If you do need to leave the platform, you just need to give us notice at least 10 business days before you intend to stop sharing, using this form in the Help Centre:
The more notice you can give us the better, but 10 business days is our minimum requirement as set out in the Owner Supplement.
Once we receive your request to take your car offline, we’ll be in touch to see if we can help turn things around for you, discuss the next steps, and either send you instructions to uninstall the equipment or book a date for our technician to uninstall it. Please follow these instructions before removing any stickers. If you remove the stickers without following our instructions, we won't be responsible for any damage to the paintwork that may occur.
Your car will remain online and available for Borrowers up until the uninstall. If you don’t want your car to be booked during this time, please put a blockout in your calendar.
If you are selling your car
If you are selling or have sold your car or are in the process of transferring it to a new owner, you must remove all of the Car Next Door equipment. This includes the GPS system, lockbox, and toll tag.
If you don't return the equipment, you will be charged for the cost of replacing it as set out in the Fee Schedule.
If you are selling the car to someone who wants to keep it listed on Car Next Door, please see Selling your car to another Car Next Door Owner.
Organise your own insurance and tolls
If you are on the Legacy Owner sharing plan, when you stop sharing your car, you'll no longer be covered by our insurance policy. We'll let you know the exact date your coverage under our policy will end, and you'll need to organise your own insurance to cover you and any of your nominated drivers after this date.
We'll also be asking you to remove our toll tag from your car, so we'll no longer be processing your tolls. You will need to arrange for your own toll account to use toll roads.
A quick word on tolls: Because we only receive notice of toll charges at the end of each month, these are billed to you at the start of the following month. This means that if you incurred any toll charges during your final month on the platform, you'll be charged for these tolls at the start of the following month.
Stay in touch
Although you won't be renting out your car anymore, you will still be part of our car-sharing community! As a verified Car Next Door member, you will have access to borrow cars, vans and utes at any time. When we delist your car, we'll switch you over to our free borrowing plan.
If renting out your car becomes possible again in the future, we'd love to have it back on the platform! Just send us a request through the Help Centre and we'll be in touch to get your car set up for sharing again.